Donate to Diversity in Aquatics


Krystal Lara is one of very few Latinas in her class at Stuyvesant High School, and in the pool. She’s backstroking her way toward the Olympics.

From The New York Times:

Her Parents Thought Swimming Lessons Were a Good Idea

Krystal Lara is one of very few Latinas in her class at Stuyvesant High School, and in the pool. She’s backstroking her way toward the Olympics.…

Former Yale swimmer Siphiwe Baleka

Good video about former Yale swimmer Siphiwe Baleka


Diversity in Aquatics Awards and Winners

Each year Diversity in Aquatics Program honors those individuals who are a part of the mission to help further the mission of curving the drowning statistics, increasing swimming competency amongst underserved /underrepresented communities, and increasing aquatic sports participation, for fitness, recreation, health, competition, and professions, for youth and adults.

There is a total of 7 awards given each year at the Diversity in Aquatics Convention. They are:

  • Lee Pitts Award
  • Jim Ellis Award
  • Arthur Lopez - Nadar Por Vida Award
  • Ken Roland Award
  • Maritza Correia - McClendon Award
  • President's Award 
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame - Sankofa Award

If you would like to nominate someone for the next award cycle, please fill out the following form: Diversity in Aquatics Nomination Form by Feb 15th

Here are the winners from the Past Conventions. 

Diversity in Aquatics, Lee Pitts Award

“ For a person or organization that has demonstrated the true high ideas of volunteer service in the area of aquatics which has benefited the least served”


2017 - Rahim Booth

2016 - Thaddeus Gamory

Diversity in Aquatics, Jim Ellis Award

“This award recognizes a researcher or coach who has obtained a high-level achievement from personal effort or initiative in a field or endeavor that contributes to the progression of aquatics.The award winner is has demonstrated a commitment to the gathering of information and research and has applied it in his or her field”


2017 - Dr. William Ramos

2016 -  Dr. Angela Beale


Arthur Lopez - Nadar Por Vida Award

“ To an individual or organization that has given an extraordinary amount of their time, energy and/or resources toward diversifying aquatics


2017 - Leslie Paul

2016 - Manny Banks and Shaun Anderson

Ken Roland Award

For that special person of color who sets a standard for humanity with their commitment to aquatics and who has lived their life with a passion for bringing forth a dream or vision, a way of being for humanity that is independent of any personal goals.” 


2017 - Kevin Sims

2016 - Jerold O. Smith


President’s Award

Conferred in recognition of an extraordinary or exceptional achievement to promote the mission of Diversity In Aquatics”


2017 - Thaddeus Gamory

2016 - Miriam Lynch



© 2018   Created by Jayson Jackson.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service