About

Donate to Diversity in Aquatics

News

Krystal Lara is one of very few Latinas in her class at Stuyvesant High School, and in the pool. She’s backstroking her way toward the Olympics.

From The New York Times:

Her Parents Thought Swimming Lessons Were a Good Idea

Krystal Lara is one of very few Latinas in her class at Stuyvesant High School, and in the pool. She’s backstroking her way toward the Olympics.…

Former Yale swimmer Siphiwe Baleka

Good video about former Yale swimmer Siphiwe Baleka

http://www.foxsports.com/video?vid=396080195760

I am lucky! I have been put on this earth to teach people to swim. It's not a job. I don't get up in the morning and think "Oh, I have to go to work". It's an adventure! I meet all kinds of people with lots of different stories but the main story is that they want to learn how to swim or to improve their swimming skills. I have been teaching swimming and lifeguarding since 1977 and have loved every minute of it! I can be having a bad day but once I start teaching, all my cares and worries are gone. It's better than a drug. I get my highs from teaching people. That's all I need. Life is too short to be in a job that your dread. Life is about helping others. Do you do what you love - Love what you do? If not, make a change.

Views: 37

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Leslie,